jim

June 12, 2009

On June 12th, my grandpa (Jim of dot+jim) ended his battle with cancer. I thought I’d take the time to pay tribute to such a wonderful grandfather, great-grandfather, husband, father, brother, and hero.

My grandpa was the quintessential Cajun gent. Living most of his life in ‘Nawlins, “Pappy” (as his grandkids called him) could charm the socks off of anyone. He, in fact, sweeped my grandmother off her feet many years ago by taking a bet from one of his buddies. That bet ended in 57 years of love and happiness. (Pretty sure it was the best gamble he’d ever made:)

There a few things I fondly remember about my grandpa. For starters, the man knew how to eat…especially sweets. I think he always knew we both shared an unconditional love for ice cream. I first figured that out when I caught him reaching for the Butter Pecan one night at exactly the same time I was. I remember when I would spend the night with he and Nanny (the Dot of dot+jim), he would always sacrifice the spot right next to her. He knew how I wanted to be as close as I possibly could to her. Pap would hug most everyone he met. And maybe even give them a kiss on the cheek if they were lucky. And how he could dance. Sometimes I would catch he and my grandma “jitterbugging” in the kitchen. It reminds me of that scene in The Notebook when Allie and Noah dance in the street.  I use to love those times when he took my brother and I fishing on McGill’s pier in Pensacola. He would sit on that dock for hours just staring out into the blue, smiling away. And boy did he have a great smile. Each wrinkle on his face accounted for years and years of a life well lived. And now he is off to see his Dot. Hope there is plenty of Bread Puddin’ up there, Pappy.

pap dock

(My brother, grandpa, and I looking out over the bayou in New Orleans)

Smile though your heart is aching
Smile even though its breaking
When there are clouds in the sky, you’ll get by
If you smile through your fear and sorrow
Smile and maybe tomorrow
Youll see the sun come shining through, if you just smile


7 Responses to “jim”

  1. Mandy Says:

    Beautiful picture and just as beautiful tribute.

  2. Joe Says:

    Oh Claire, what nice tribute! That photo is just gorgeous too. Sounds like an amazing guy.

  3. momma lv Says:

    What a wonderful tribute to your “Pappy.” The photo is perfect.

  4. Anne Says:

    Claire, this is a beautiful tribute, and you’ll always have those beautiful memories to carry with you. I’ve loved hearing stories about your Grandpa and love that you’re sharing them with even more people now. You’ll have to learn the jitterbug 😉

  5. Delora Says:

    Claire, this is beautiful. He was so loved and will be missed.

  6. Mama Says:

    Claire,
    Your Pappy was so very special, but I don’t have to tell you that, do I? You have captured his charm in such a beautiful tribute. The love that he and Nanny shared was so magical. He was also lucky to find his other special lady, Vera. She has given us another seven years with Pap and for that, we are eternally grateful.

    I love you dahlin’
    Mama and Ddy

  7. Mary Ellen Says:

    Claire,
    Our thoughts are with you and your family during this difficult time. Your tribute to your Pappy is beautiful!

    Hugs are sent your way,
    Mary Ellen, Joe, Laura and Katherine


Leave a Reply

